A Poem about Loss and Friendship

Published Wednesday, June 27, 2012 by Chasing Neptune

We’d been stranded at sea for fifteen days
when I watched my little brother die
from the inside out.

As I pushed him overboard, the little people
in their little boats didn’t notice.
His body never made a ripple – I never
screamed.

I wanted to jump in after him.

I gripped the side of the boat,
trembled and vomited
four times.

A dove landed on my shoulder,
whispered, I know what he meant
to you.

A vulture landed in the boat,
snapped, Give me your hand
to eat or get out of my boat.

Dove cooed, Fly away.

Vulture crowed, I’m hungry.

I
flew
away.

2 comments on “A Poem about Loss and Friendship

  • Leave a Reply

