Week Eight: The Anti-Misanthrope

Published Tuesday, May 8, 2012 by Chasing Neptune

…or something like that.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again — I hate people. I do. I really do. It’s a combination of things: the general stupidity of my generation, my own superiority complex, my exhalted vision of human perfection. Don’t take it personally. It’s rarely ever personal. I’m just one of those people who cannot tolerate ignorance, hyperactivity, and fake niceties. And the more I study Sociology, the worse it gets. But anyway, that’s not the point.

The point is that this week’s challenge was to attempt to be social once a day.

It’s not a difficult task. It’s not like I’m socially-inept or something. I just like my tiny group of awesome friends and my creative inner-dialogue (yes, dialogue – I am a writer, after all).

Monday – The energy in my sorority* was pretty fantastic. We were selecting our rooms for the next semester, and everyone was bright and bubbly with the golden promise of change. I enjoyed being in the middle of this extravaganza and re-connecting with some of the women I had not talked to all semester. Therefore, I would say that this day was fun and made me want to put myself out there more often.

Tuesday – I escaped with one of my roommates to her hometown and then up into the city for a little bit. I probably owe her my sanity, as she swooped in and carried me off right when my world was collapsing around me. So today was another good day.

Wednesday – I didn’t really go out of my way to do anything exceptional. I ate lunch with people rather than eat at my computer and do homework. Meh.

Thursday – I failed. I mean, I commented on a blog. The internet is a social place, right? Codex would side with me, so that’s got to count for something, right?

Friday – I kinda failed. Like Wednesday, I ate lunch with people and then read on the porch. I enjoyed sitting in the sun and watching everyone walk in and out of the house.

Saturday – Okay, Saturday makes up for every other failure. I attended Kansas City’s Rock N Fashion Show, which featured local bands, as well as fashion designers and labels. If I rambled on for 100 pages, I don’t think I could precisely describe the feeling of going to a laid back concert. Just standing there in the front of the crowd — feeling the soundwaves vibrate in my chest, hearing the guitars wash through me, studying the walk of the models and the ensembles they displayed — was phenomenal. It felt incredible to be back in my element. Hopefully next year, Skeleton Moon will be a part of the line-up, and I’ll get to strut up there on that catwalk, myself.

On a side note, Kansas City is really coming into her own. Seriously, that technology Dorothy brought back from Oz has really boosted our culture. No, but seriously, you people are missing out.

Sunday – My dad’s side of the family celebrated Mother’s Day, and I spent a little extra time with my great-grandparents and grandparents. Sometimes I forget how much I just love to sit down and talk with all of them.

Okay, so the results of this thrown-together, poorly-typed challenge. To be entirely honest, I’m not sure if I really learned all that much. I think that sometimes I’m too judgmental and hard on people and that I should remember to make more of an effort to be around others. At the same time, I reminded myself just how much I love to exist in my own bubble. So it’s kind of a wash. I’ll continue to conditionally hate people, as well as conditionally like them.

Maybe meditating on this will bring some more enlightenment. Stay tuned.

*I know what you’re thinking. What the hell is a misanthrope doing in a sorority? It’s a long story, ladies and gentlemen.

Leave a Reply

