Week Four: Fattening Up Frankie!

Published Monday, April 9, 2012 by Chasing Neptune

Clarification: Frankie!, or Mr. Frankie! to you, is my iPod. This week was all about taking the time to acquire several of the songs and albums that I have claimed that I “do not have time” to download. I love music, so this week was heaven for me. I encourage anyone who happens to read this to A) not judge me for my musical schizophrenia and B) check out all of these artists, albums, and songs.

Goal: Put at least 100 songs onto Frankie!. At least 75% of the songs cannot be from artists already on my iPod. (The fact that some of these artists were not already on my iPod is quite embarrassing to me.)

Monday: 21 songs; all from a “new” artist

Tuesday: 11 songs; 10 from “new artists”

  1. I’ve Got the World on a String – Frank Sinatra
  2. My Funny Valentine – Frank Sinatra
  3. You Make Me Feel So Young – Frank Sinatra
  4. I’ve Got You Under my Skin – Frank Sinatra
  5. Come Fly with Me – Frank Sinatra
  6. The Way You Look Tonight – Frank Sinatra
  7. Fly Me to the Moon (In Other Words) – Frank Sinatra
  8. New York, New York – Frank Sinatra
  9. The Girl From Ipanema – Frank Sinatra
  10. Shattered – The Rolling Stones (already had artist)
  11. Sleeping In – The Postal Service

Wednesday: 33 songs; 18 from “new” artists

Thursday: 13 songs; all from a “new” artist

Friday: 18 songs; all from a “new” artist

Saturday & Sunday: No music – spent the days relaxing with family and friends for the Easter holiday.

Monday: 8 songs; all from “new” artists

Total: 104 songs added to iPod; 84 songs from previously unacquired artists = 84.6% of acquired music from “new” artists

Reflection:

A. This challenge was a total success. Even though I had to roll it over into Monday, I exceeded my goal. Plus, it works towards my “Bucket List” goal of acquiring 120GB of music (my iPod’s capacity).

B. This is probably my favorite challenge so far, simply because it was the most fun.

C. I have much more time available for music than I let myself believe. The lesson I learned is that every now and then I need to remember to make time for the little things. This week, I have been happier and more inspired than I have been in months, and I directly attribute that to the way in which this week’s challenge surrounded me with music and art and creative vocations that I love and admire. Therefore…

Week Five Challenge: Art Every Day

2 comments on “Week Four: Fattening Up Frankie!

Leave a Reply

