Day Two: A Tie Complex

Published Wednesday, November 30, 2011 by Chasing Neptune

This evening, I will make the completely unfounded assertion that every woman secretly loves ties – whether that be men wearing them, the sophistication and glamour behind dressing up, or even just the artistic nature of the colors and patterns. Being female, I am no exception to my declaration. For me, a great portion of this fascination has been the act of tying ties. The fluidity with which people skillfully whip the ends through their fingers, stripes and plaids and sheen knotting together, has always been one of those skills that I’ve never actually acquired.

I’m not sure when this interest first occurred to me. It’s not like I grew up watching my dad slip on a suit and tie every morning, I mean, I don’t think he’s ever even owned one. So, I can’t really blame it on nuclear family brainwashing. Maybe part of it is that idealistic 1950s housewife idea – tying a pretty bow around my trophy husband’s neck, before sending him off to make money to finance my shoe addiction. But then again, maybe it’s the fact that I’ve always longed to be punk rock enough to pull off wearing one for myself – thanks a lot for that one, Gee.

Regardless, the point is: today, I furthered my 365 day mission by finally learning to tie a tie. Now all I have to do is figure out how to pull off wearing one of the two specimens hanging idly in my closet without looking like an emo or an idiot. Hmm, another day.

2 comments on “Day Two: A Tie Complex

  • Leave a Reply

