Day One* – A Toast

Published Tuesday, November 29, 2011 by Chasing Neptune

It takes 30 days to break a habit – and hopefully only 30 days to make a habit. Following this logic, I’ve got 29 to go until this challenge becomes a nice steamy slice of unconscious pie. While Day One was not a thrill-seeking, epiphany-filled, life-changing day, I did move towards my purpose in two small ways.

First, I kept a promise to myself. For some horrid reason, I have become the cliché, sophomore-slump(ed) college student. I have absolutely no motivation whatsoever. I mean, it’s not like I was ever particularly enthralled with school work. However, lately I have been putting everything off until the last possible minute, rather than sitting down and powering through it so I can go watch How I Met Your Mother re-runs and get muffins at the Kwik.

But today, in sticking with my 365 day challenge, I kept an academic promise to myself. I have completed one of my end-of-the-semester portfolios, four days before the due date. What’s more, after I slam out this post, I will be returning to my Java Break study coma: browsing through my Sociology textbook and whipping up a literary analysis proposal. Boom.

Second, I have furthered a more general goal of mine. For too long, I put up with negative friends and fake friends of all sorts. You know the type: the ones who always have to take your experiences and twist them into some depressing personal anecdote…or don’t actually give a shit about you at all. Since coming to college, I have taken great pains to weed through these people (ie: the great Facebook cleansing of 2010) and find the gems. Today, I plucked another diamond from the sand.

I am proud to call this diamond my sister. She is one of the few people with whom I feel comfortable being my true self: sarcasm and all. Whenever I spend time with her, she teaches me something new or inspires me in some way. She is the perfect blend of NYC glamour and laid-back Kansas charm. I look forward to furthering our friendship and getting to know her better.

For the select  few of you who read this, I apologize for it not being more snappy and entertaining. Even though I would love to drop out of college and spend 365 days gallivanting around the U.S. and having fantastic adventures, my bank account and sense of duty would never allow it. Therefore, like in most situations in life, we must be content with the small victories – of which I had two.

If I hadn’t already devoured my hot chocolate, I would give a toast: to promises kept and friendships made.

*Even though WordPress will date this as November 29th (as it is after midnight), count it as November 28th.

One comment on “Day One* – A Toast

  • 365 days! Quite a challenge!

    Professional photographer, Jim Brandenburg, did something similar to challenge himself, but it was a 90-day thing. Between the autumnal equinox to the winter solstice, he made one photograph a day.

    It was intended to be a personal project to get back to the creative spirit that drove him to make images in the first place, but it ended up being one of his most successful books called (Chased by the Light: A 90-Day Journey).

    I respect your journey and wish you the best, but if it doesn’t go as planned, I won’t judge you, even if you want me to! 🙂

    Don’t be too hard on yourself…

    Todd

  • Leave a Reply

