My Favorite Poem I Have Ever Written…

Published Sunday, November 27, 2011 by Chasing Neptune

How to Love the Ocean

Do not dive. Plunge feet-first

and kick the undertow. Tie

knots in seaweed. Shatter

glass into sand.

Breathe in salt and wind

and mist. Slide your fingers over sea

shells, and do not trust

blue eyes.

Worship the night sky: stars

and sails and wisps of smoke. Hunt

creatures in the deep — when their

scales brush your skin, whisper

                                                I will fear no evil.

4 comments on “My Favorite Poem I Have Ever Written…

  • I love this :) shattering glass into sand hits me a different way each time I read it. It’s cool what happened when you had no topic given to you, and sometimes the ocean is used to symbolize the Unconscious, a lot of folks who studied dreams back in the day felt pretty sure of that, so it’s interesting that when you dove into yourself to find something, it was the ocean, such a fabulous metaphor and I love all the gritty details :)

    • Thank you very much! The “shattering glass” image is one of my favorites. And I had never really thought about the ocean as a symbol of the Unconscious, but I think that would definitely be an appropriate layer to add to the meanings that this poem holds for me.

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 273 other followers

